Interviews CiclismoPuro #1 | Clément Chevrier

Standard

He already has some great results on the biggest races of the under 23 calendar and he is one of the most exciting French talents. Excellent climber, after spending his first years in cycling on french team Chambéry CF, the development team of Ag2r, he is now going to take on a new challenge overseas with Bissell, with the goal of moving to WorldTour in 2015. It’s Clément Chevrier:

1. How did you get into pro cycling?

I rode 3 years for Chambéry Cyclisme Formation, the development team of AG2R La Mondiale, all of my amateur years after junior actually. I have improved a lot thanks to the race calendar and the environment, from training in the mountains.

2. You are part of the new generation of French climbers, what are your thoughts about French cycling in general and its future?

We do have a great new generation in France, with such climbers as Romain Bardet, Thibault Pinot, Kenny Elissonde or Warren Barguil indeed. But we have some big talents for the sprints too with Arnaud Demare, Bryan Coquard, Nacer Bouhanni, etc. They are very promising. I think that in a few years they will be with the best riders in the world. In my case, their performances are an incentive for me to try to succeed in the near future. They show that it’s possible for a young rider to shine in the current cycling world.

3. During 2013, you’ve raced Tour de l’Ain with the national team against some of the best teams in the world. What was it like to race with them?

It was my first pro race and I was amazed in the first place. Afterwards I tried to focus on the race. To give the best of myself. During the climbs I was thrilled to be next to Sanchez, Pinot… It was a “dream” for me. It was hard to sleep after the stages with all this memories in my head.

4. But before you’ve ended up in 3rd overall at Giro Ciclistico della Valle Aosta, it was important for you to succeed in one of the most important races in the under 23 calendar?

For me it was a surprise to shine at Valle d’Aosta. Indeed, it was my come back after the Tour des Pays de Savoie. I didn’t know my condition after 3 weeks without races. But I was very serious on my training so as to try to remain competitive during my break.

5. And you’ve also won a stage at the extremely hard Tour Du Pays de Savoie (and ending up in 2nd overall), atop La Toussuire. How do you look back on that stage?

What a great day! Because it was the most difficult stage and I won it in front of my family, friends,… Moreover, I had particularly prepared this stage during my training camp in May. There is lots of work behind this victory.

6. During the summer, there were some rumours about you could sign with Ag2r. Did you were in negotiations with the team?

Yes I talked with Ag2r but Vincent Lavenu, the team manager, told me in July that it wouldn’t be possible to join AG2R in 2013. He wanted classic men in priority and it’s not my speciality…

7. Instead you’re riding for Bissell (former Bontrager) in the USA for 2014. How did you get in touch with the team?

I contacted Axel Merckx 2 days before the World Championships. I sent my CV by email. And one day after the race in Florence, Axel called me to make me a proposition…

8. In 2014, you’re going to have Axel Merckx as a DS, what do you think you can learn from him?

It’s a big chance to have Axel as a DS! I am very proud to work with him. He has many experiences and he knows how to share them. I have some memories of when I was young… I always wanted a photo and a signing of Axel when I went to see the Tour de France. And now I work with him… So incredible! Of course Bissell is known for being one of the best development teams in the world.

9. After seeing Joe Dombrowski in 2012 and Lawson Craddock in 2013, being successful at the American’s biggest stage races with the team, do you think you can be the next one?

I hope so! I want to take advantage of new experiences and learn again thanks to the race calendar, the training camps, living with the staff, my team mates, etc,… in the purpose of going in a WT team next season, as I hope.

10. Biggest goals for 2014?

Tour of California, Pays de Savoie if I can participate, Tour du Colorado or Tour de l’Avenir.

11. Do you have an idea of what’s going to be your calendar for the first few months?

I will go at a training camp in California from the 2nd to the 10th of March, then I will stay in the U.S, in San Diego I think. I will begin my season on the Redlands Classic in California. We will go in altitude training camp just after to prepare for the Tour of Gila and Tour of California in May. I will be back in Europe after that.

Anything else you want to add?

No… I’d just like to thank you for your interest!

 And, on behalf of CiclismoPuro, I would also like to thank you the the your time and availability since the start. Good luck for the season! Follow @ClemChverier to follow closely his season!

Leave a comment